Skip to content

Dixie Mango

Come see my new home at!

Hey ya’ll!  I’m back with the Ipad/laptop cover tutorial I promised.

I am going to give you the measurements for the Ipad, but I will give you tips on sizing it for your laptop or whatever you deem worthy of this lovely cover.

The pics aren’t great since I made this in the evening, but I figured you would rather these than none, right?  Okay, great!  I knew you would understand… that’s why I love ya’ll so!


Main fabric, lining fabric, interfacing, velcro, thread, marking tool, etc.

Alrighty. First you need to measure your laptop.  The Ipad is 7.47 inches by 9.56 inches to be exact.  It is 1/2 inch thick.

Here is your formula: Short side length (7.5″ x 2) + 1/2″ for seam allowances + thickness (1/2″) + 1″ for flap fold (or whatever you think is best) = 17″

Next: Long side length (9.56″) + 1/2″ for seam allowances + thickness (1/2″) + 1/4 for topstitching + 1/4″ of wiggle room = 11 1/4″ish

Okay, so we are now working with 17″ by 11 1/4″ or whatever works for your laptop.

Now you are going to make your point for the cover (if you stick with it, you are home free… this is the hardest part).  I wanted my point to come down at about midpoint on my Ipad.  Remembering that I am going to lose a 1/4 inch to seam allowances, I chose 4 inches as my point measurement (edited to add *This is an extra 4″ added to the 17″, so now it is about 21″ in all).  This is somewhat arbitrary and up to your personal preference.  So, the way to make your point is to take the top of your short side and mark it’s center point.  Mine is at 5 5/8 (1/2 of 11 1/4″).  Then measure 4″ inches straight up from there and make a mark.  After you have your 4″ mark, draw a diagonal line from that point down to each short end.  You should have a shape like the one below.  If you look closely, you can see my chalk markings on the main fabric.

Whew, have you got it?  Did it make sense?  I sure hope so because I just wrote that about 12 times to try to get it to make sense.  So, that’s what I got.  Feel free to email me if you have questions about that part.

Okay, now cut this shape out of your main fabric, your lining fabric and one piece of interfacing (I used like a thermolam plus… something with a little cushioning, but not too thick like batting… although, batting would probably be just fine!)

Once you have that, you are going to need to mark on your lining piece where your velcro should go.  To do this, I sort of eyeballed it keeping in mind that I was going to lose a 1/4″ for my seam allowance and 1/8″ for my topstitch.  Make sure you are far enough down (mine is about 1″ from the top and 1/2″ from the sides).  The size of the velcro is up to you.  My soft side of velcro is 1″ and the rough side is about 2″ which allows the cover to be a bit adjustable.  You are going to put the soft side on your lining piece.  Sew that baby down (sewing is stronger than adhesive… sew it down… trust, Carrie).

Now, layer your batting, then lining right side up, and then your main fabric right side down.  Got it?  Now pin it.

Sew it together using a 1/4″ seam allowance and leaving an opening for turning.  You can see that I left my opening at the bottom.  I like to put 2 pins where I should stop sewing because I can’t tell you how many times I have sewn something all the way shut and had to bust out the seam ripper.  No fun, there!  After you sew it, clip your corners.

Don’t forget your side points too!  Then, turn it right side out and press it down nice a neat making sure to press in your opening to make it look as if it is sewn.  You will close that up in the next step.  Next, sew a 1/8″ top stitch around the entire piece.  After that, get your Ipad/laptop and give it a dry run.  Make sure it is going to fit.  Don’t worry, you did great and it will fit lovely!  Next you want to mark how far you should fold up the bottom to make the sleeve.

Before you actually sew down the sides, you want to fold over the flap in order to know where to put your other piece of velcro and sew that down.

Now, pin your sides and sew using a 1/8″ topstitch (you will be sewing over your 1/8″ topstitch from 2 steps ago).  Don’t forget to backstitch a few times at the tops as this is where you will get the most stress.

And you’re done!  Ain’t she gorgeous!!  Great job, friends!

As always, I’d love to see pictures if you give it a go.

Ta for now!

Tags: , , , , ,


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

